“Will my kids like the Lighted Boat Parade?”

child christmas lightsThe White Caps Community Band is a collection of local musicians (mostly senior citizens) that perform at public and non-profit events throughout Morro Bay and the surrounding area, and I’m told they perform at our Lighted Boat Parade every year. I’ve always had to take people’s word for it because the only sound I ever hear (I’m at the front desk most lighted boat parades) is the collective scream of hundreds of delighted children. From the lobby I can occasionally see a twinkling sail or bow go by, and I can see the throngs of people gathered at various viewing points along the Embarcadero, but I never hear the White Caps. I’m sure they’re down there and I’m sure they sound great but they are no competition for the lungs of all the enchanted, mesmerized, perhaps temporarily-insane-driven children brought to watch the spectacle. Even without Christmas, Morro Bay is a stimulating place for little minds and hearts, but add colored lights dancing off the ripples of the bay, the imaginative Holiday motifs floating by, the White Caps Band, and the hope that Santa makes one last appearance before heading North, and it’s a night any kid of any age would love. The White Caps will be performing again this year, Saturday, December 7th, I’m told, at the North T Pier (by Tognazzinni’s Dockside), and I’m sure they will be, but again I will probably not hear them over the screams of children.

Leave a comment